Each spring, the athletic department and Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) host a banquet to honor all student athletes from all sports for their hard work and achievements. Student athletes walk the purple carpet, have dinner and then enjoy an ESPY-style awards show celebrating accomplishments in the classroom, in competition and within the community. Student athletes and SAAC nominate and vote athletic award winners while Student Services vote winners of academic awards.

Athletic honors awarded include:
Female and Male Newcomers of the Year, Best Male and Female Athlete in Supporting Role, Purple Pride Award, Most Inspirational Award, Men’s and Women’s Team of the Year, Show-Stopping Moment of the Year, Coach of the Year, and Female and Male Athletes of the Year.

Academic honors awarded include:
Mark A. Chapman Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Bob and Lila Snell Academic Award for Excellence and Effort, Gina Sylvester Memorial Award, Veryl and Fern Switzer Campus Leadership Award, Scholastic Achievement Award; Big 12 Conference and All-America honors are also recognized.